The Functional Movement Screen (FMS) is a tool developed to help clinicians and health care professions to screen individuals for risk of injury and/or a dysfunctional or performance-limiting movement pattern.

The FMS aims to identify imbalances in mobility and stability during seven fundamental movement patterns.

These movement patterns are designed to evaluate how well you function by placing your body in extreme positions where imbalances become noticeable.

Once these imbalances have been identified through the FMS, a program of corrective exercises is then developed with the goal of preventing musculoskeletal injuries. The seven movement patterns the test consist of are:

  1. Deep Squat
  2. In-line Lunge
  3. Hurdle Step
  4. Rotary Stability
  5. Trunk Stability Push Up
  6. Shoulder Mobility
  7. Active Straight Leg Raise